Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Award Winners of 2023

International DLG Prize

The International Prize was initiated in 1985 on the occasion of the centennial of the DLG. With the prize the DLG would like to put promising young talent in a position to gain further qualifications in order to act successfully in both a professional context and outside of work for the agri-food sector.

The DLG (Deutsche Landwirtschafts-Gesellschaft - German Agricultural Society) has once again awarded especially qualified young talent of the agri-food sector its International Prize. The five prize winners for 2023 come from the German states of Hesse, Lower Saxony and Baden Wuerttemberg.

The awards were presented by DLG President Hubertus Paetow and by Stefan Teepker, Chairman of the Selection Committee of the DLG International Prize, during the annual conference of the Young DLG in Osnabrück on 13 May 2023.

This year three advanced training prizes were awarded, which are endowed with Euro 4,000 each.

The prize winners are:

MBA Veronika Riepl-Bauer from Schellerten, Garmissen (Lower Saxony)

Managing Director of the arable farm Cultivation GbR in Garmissen and der BiGO GbR biogas plant in Oedelum

B. Sc. Simon Wespel from Ochsenhausen (Baden Wurttemberg)

Trainee in the 2nd year of training as a journeyman butcher, Landmetzgerei Kloos, Tannheim

Dr. sc. agr. Annika Johanna Thies from Springe (Lower Saxony)

Research associate at the Thünen Institute, currently postdoctoral project at Colorado State University, USA

In addition, two junior prizes were awarded which are endowed with Euro 2,500 each.

The prize winners are:

Charlotte Aue from Stuttgart (Baden Wurttemberg)

Student of Agricultural Sciences, University of Hohenheim

M. Sc. Lukas Förter aus Gießen (Hesse)

Doctoral student at JLU Gießen